International Pagan Values Blogging and Podcasting Month June 2010

Once again we are nearing the June Solstice.

The Sun is nearing its height in the Northern Hemisphere and nearly hidden from view in the Southern Hemisphere.  Midsummer and Yule, festivals of fire and of light.  Times to exuberantly celebrate all that makes life bright and wonderful, and to light our personal and familial candles and hearth fires of our inspiration and nourishment in celebration of our beloved living.

Once more I issue a Challenge and a Call to my fellow Pagans, of every Pagan faith and path, to join me in blogging about Pagan Values in the month of June.

I invite you to share those Values and Virtues and Ethics and Ideals that you have found within whatever your Paganism is.  How do you carry these jewels out into the world, thus enriching it and yourself, in your daily lives?    What has living your Values taught you?  How have the Ethics or Ideals of your particular Paganism challenged you?  What have you discovered about yourself in your relationships with the Gods, and the world around you, and with the Ancestors, and with the Spirits of the World around you – however your individual Pagan path defines these things?

Yours in Peace and Curiosity,

Pax, your editor


IF you would like to take part in the 2010 International Pagan Values Blogging and Podcasting Month there are several ways to participate!


Before June:

Spread the word about the project!

If you think you’d like to participate leave a comment in the comments section of this message with a link to your blog or site.  (and direct folks here so they can find out more and let your erstwhile editor know if they are interested)

Think, pre-write and meditate on the topic, it can sometimes be surprising difficult to articulate ones deepest feelings and instincts especially on such heartfelt topics!

Feel free to ask questions and share ideas!

During June:

Once you have posted your blog post or uploaded your episode you leave a comment, or another comment, in the comments section of this post linking not only to your blog or site, but to the specific post or episode!

Feel free to sign onto delicious and, or if you are already on delicious, to tag your post (or one in the event you particularly like) with the tag  “metapagan.values” to not only help archive valuable Pagan writings and share them with others, but to also aid your editor in his chosen task!

For ease of research for future generations of Pagans, the suggestion has been made to use, or also use, a standardized tag “PVE2010” for Pagan Values Event 2010  across the many article and information sharing social networking sites.  Please do!

The Pagan Values Blog will then begin creating an index of contributions, similar to the one created for the 2009 event.

Some blog posts will be asked permission to re-post in their entirety (with appropriate byline and copyright information) on the Pagan Values Blog.

SADLY, the Pagan Values Blog does not (at present) have the capability of similarly archiving/re-posting podcast episodes.  We will however be asking select podcaster participants (whose contributions will be linked to both in the index and in individual entries on the Pagan Values Blog) the opportunity to post a written piece to the Blog either summarizing or expanding on their chosen topic.

After June:

Enjoy reading, and blogging and podcasting about the contributions, and discussing them with your friends and communities!

PLEASE NOTE: Should your everyday life interfere with your intention to post or record your contribution in JUNE, the cut-off criteria will be if you posted your intent before the end of June 2010!

51 Comments

Filed under IPVB&PM 2010

51 responses to “International Pagan Values Blogging and Podcasting Month June 2010

  1. Pingback: International Pagan Values Blogging and Podcasting Month June 2010 « Chrysalis

  2. I will definitely participate again, even if it’s only 2-3 posts. I realize there’s much I need to elucidate myself and this gives me a great opportunity to do so.

  3. Pingback: Pushing Back at Life: Paganism, Strength, and Heavy Metal (Part 2) - Know Thyself: Musings on Spirit, Body, Mind

  4. Pingback: Pagan Values Blogging & Podcasting Month « Proud Pagan Podcasters

  5. I am definitely planning on putting together a few posts in this vein. So I can move them to June and run them to support this effort.

    • Pax

      Wonderful Patrick!!

      I will be looking forward to the perspective of someone who is trying to share and carry forward these values to the next Pagan generation!

  6. I would like to participate. I have plenty of time, so I should be able to formulate something.

    The link from my name here goes to the blog where my post will occur.

  7. I can do a show on pagan values in June. Sounds fun.

    –Dee

  8. PCP will be doing a Pagan Values Episode to air in June. You can see what we’re working on at: http://pcppodcast.pbworks.com/Pagan-Values

  9. The PCP Crew is working on an episode about values to air in June. See our work in progress at: http://pcppodcast.pbworks.com/Pagan-Values

    – Dave of PCP

  10. Nya

    I would love to participate as well. Might be more than one (because the topic can be HUGE), but I’ll definitely put something(s) together. 🙂

  11. I’ll definitely be participating this year!

  12. I plan on doing some posts on this and possibly a podcast episode. I will think on this and repost when something is loaded.

  13. I will participate. This seems to be a wonderful project and I am delighted to have to opportunity to share in it.

  14. This is a wonderful project and I will definately be partipating. However, I would really like an icon, button or banner to place on my blog. Is there one available?

  15. Ali

    I definitely plan on participating again this year! In fact, I sort of already got started, with my post “Memorial Day, Motherland and Blood Sacrifice.” More to come all through June, though! 🙂

  16. P. Sufenas Virius Lupus

    I participated last year, but my entries were in my private LJ. This year, however, I’m cross-posting them in our Ekklesía Antínoou LJ community, and the first of them is given below.

    http://community.livejournal.com/ekklesiaantinoo/17612.html

    Looking forward to seeing what others come up with this month!

  17. Joining a tad late to the party, but I definitely want to jump in this year! Especially as I want to blog publicly about my spirituality at least once a week (and hopefully more in a paper journal offline).

  18. Pingback: International Pagan Values Blogging and Podcasting Month 2010 « Pagan Values

  19. Pingback: Pagan Values (PVE2010) « Path to Witchstead

  20. Here is my next post: “So long as our love shall last” – Pagan Values in divorce:
    http://blog.dianarajchel.com/2010/06/08/so-long-as-our-love-shall-last-pagan-values-project/

  21. Pingback: Walk Lightly and Leave No Trace PVE2010 « Path to Witchstead

  22. witchstead

    2 of 9. Ok, it’s really going be less than 9. I combined two today.

  23. Pingback: What Comes Around Goes Around (PVE2010) « Path to Witchstead

  24. I’ve added another installment: Situational ethics and Divorce in Wicca
    http://blog.dianarajchel.com/2010/06/11/situational-ethics-in-wicca-and-divorce/

  25. On community as a Pagan value that spans generations and traditions: Pagan Values: Community is now up at Quaker Pagan Reflections.

  26. I’ll definitely do a post about Pagan values and ethical leadership. I might need to finish up my post after I return from PSG; I’m hoping to get it done in the next days. Thanks for the hosting Pagan Values month, I think it’s so important to our traditions and communities as we move forward.

  27. I have a related installment, here: the core values of neopaganism as I understand them –
    http://blog.dianarajchel.com/2010/06/18/the-core-values-of-neopaganism-as-i-understand-them/

  28. Pingback: Valuing Joy - Know Thyself: Musings on Spirit, Body, Mind

  29. T Thorn Coyle

    Pax, here is my entry, on the value of joy.

    http://www.thorncoyle.com/musings/?p=322

    Thanks- Thorn

  30. I had hoped to produce more posts earlier in the month, but it’s been a crazy one!

    Here’s one of (probably) two. This one’s on suburban gardening/farming:
    http://indigrrl.blogspot.com/2010/06/finding-balance-in-suburbs.html

  31. Pingback: Solstice and Solace « Chrysalis

  32. Ali

    An announcement about the pre-launch Call for Submissions for the new website, Voices of Pagan Pacifism. (Thought it’d be appropriate for Pagan Values Month. ;))

  33. I was trying to find out who started this, and now realize that it’s been going on for more than just this year!
    We spoke about values through the month of June, and will be finishing up with a talk on hospitality.

  34. My latest installment, Happiness, the other White Light (continuing the divorce values pieces.)
    http://blog.dianarajchel.com/2010/06/25/happiness-the-other-white-light/

  35. Oraia Sphinx

    Hi Pax (and all!) Here is my contribution, “Celebrating Curiosity.”

    http://sphinxwords.wordpress.com/2010/06/25/celebrating-curiosity/

    Blessings,
    Oraia

  36. Wow, judging from Oraia Sphinx I seem to be on a group wavelength yet again.
    The “other” values I hold personally, beginning with curiosity/wonder:
    http://blog.dianarajchel.com/2010/06/28/a-few-more-values/

  37. Pingback: Values: Justice and Reverence « Pagan Godspell

  38. Pingback: Welcome: A Pre-Launch Announcement | Voices of Pagan Pacifism

  39. Ali

    I had been hoping to get this post on “nakedness” up before the end of the month, but injured my wrist during the last week of June. Hope I’m not too late: http://meadowsweet-myrrh.blogspot.com/2010/07/naked-in-world.html

  40. Pingback: Pagan Values Month « In Among the Heather

Leave a comment